Search the forum,

Discuss To cross bond or not? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've had a new boiler installed in one of my buy to lets and the tenant called up after a few months to say they were getting a slight shock through an adjacent tap. My electrician said that this was due to the boiler not being earthed/cross bonded. The guy who installed the boiler said this wasn't a legal requirement and doesn't make a difference and couldn't be the cause. The electrician insists that if copper pipes are used, this is a requirement. I'm keen to know who's right. Any thoughts?

Not required any more as far as I know
Gas should be earthed at the meter and mains cold at the stop tap

I’m not an electrician, but if the system is a PME as most are. Then all exposed metallic pipes will need connecting to the CPC.
A simply resistance test with a multi-meter will prove it.

I've had a new boiler installed in one of my buy to lets and the tenant called up after a few months to say they were getting a slight shock through an adjacent tap. My electrician said that this was due to the boiler not being earthed/cross bonded. The guy who installed the boiler said this wasn't a legal requirement and doesn't make a difference and couldn't be the cause. The electrician insists that if copper pipes are used, this is a requirement. I'm keen to know who's right. Any thoughts?

Any ideas on how many rcds on consumer unit? Should have x2 if 17th edition. As JC plumb stated, earlier still requires cross bonding etc.

Water and gas should be main equipotential earth bonded regardless of wiring edition.

I'm keen to know who's right. Any thoughts?

There is clearly *an* earthing/wiring problem with the property. I suspect you'll find there is a lack of earth continuity somewhere. If so, cross-bonding the boiler may mask the problem but won't fix the root cause.