Search the forum,

Discuss Thinking of starting a plumbing and heating supplies bussiness in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been a plumber for nearly 15 years and made good living from it, and saved quite a lot of money since I been living with my family.

I am really thinking of using a office space and buying boilers and heaters and stocking and selling them, what I have noticed is plumbing and heating supplies shops always seem to be open and there is a demand for it.

Just wanted to hear more from people who know people who have done the same things.

thanks in advance

Sorry to say I don't think you can compete with Internet or screwfix prices

See what prices you get first before commit anything

Also check / see what other plumbing business are local to you

I know a lad who did this last year. He was a buyer for a large plumbing distributor. He knows all the manufacturers, so can get a good deal.
He is only small time and sells mainly locally to known plumbers. But is struggling, because all the installers want credit. If one is late, he can't pay his own bills and then uses overdraft. So makes no money.
The big guys insure the debt, but this costs and needs to be included in your markup.

I was talking to the commercial director of one of the big 4 merchants last week. He told me they make less than 4% on a boiler sale!

His other comment was, and I quote, "the (plumbers) merchant market is turning to ****" For your information, each of the big 4 (with their buying power) has closed tween 60 & 100 branches 'each' in the last 12 months.

If you have a genuine USP that is sustainable, then go for it. If not, find something else to invest your money in - like us :cool:

I have been a plumber for nearly 15 years and made good living from it, and saved quite a lot of money since I been living with my family.