1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Thermostatic Mixer Shower Removing non-return valves (gravity fed) in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

1. Svenedin

Svenedin Member

I am not a professional plumber but I thought I would share this tip as it defeated the professional plumber who installed my new shower and there seems to be no information about this on the internet.

I should say first (before I get flamed) that non-return valves (NRVs) are mandatory where a mixer valve is supplied by mains cold water and they seem to be built-in as standard to modern shower valves. The valves are there, as I understand, to prevent the possibility of the mains cold water becoming contaminated (from say a shower head falling down a nearby toilet) or where there is unequal pressure in the hot and cold feeds which could lead to crossflow (usually cold into the hot).

Anyway, that is not the situation in my house. I have an old style gravity fed cold feed from a tank in the loft and an indirect vented hot water cylinder in the airing cupboard. To boost the pressure I have a twin impeller, positive head pump (Stuart Turner Monsoon) which means the hot and cold pressures are equal (pump has dedicated supply).

I had my bathroom professionally refurbished and a new Grohe Euphoria thermostatic shower installed. The old shower had worked very well but that was not the case with the Grohe unit. When the shower valve was opened the pump would not start unless the shower handset was unhooked and held below the mixer valve. A nuisance. I telephoned Grohe and they told me that this is because the NRVs will not open fully and provide sufficient flow for the pump to start because they need more head of pressure to open than I have under gravity. Grohe told me to remove the NRVs from the mixer valve. They seemed very familiar with the issue.