1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Temporarily sealing live leaks on larger pipe? in the Plumbing Forum area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

1. Jstreet

Jstreet New Member

Hello gents. I'm stuck on this one so could use a few tips. I'm a maintenance engineer and the building I work in is very old which means that the majority of local isolation points are either seized or nonfunctional. Generally, a leak means isolating the whole site via the plant room or cutting in live and slamming on a lever valve which is something I would rather avoid if necessary. I have some of those Kibosh pipe clamps for 15mm and 22mm which work a treat so I am wondering what methods there are for sealing live leaks on larger pipes (28-35mm). I was thinking along the lines of a quick setting metal/epoxy? Is there such a product out there? Any help would be appreciated. Cheers!

2. scott_d

scott_d Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

Rubber and a jubilee clip

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. Last Plumber

Last Plumber Trusted Plumber GSR

When you say "leak", what are we talking about?

4. Jstreet

Jstreet New Member

Pin holes or weeping soldered joints

5. Jerry

Jerry GSR

• Friendly Friendly x 1
  6. Jstreet

Jstreet New Member

Thanks for those links, love me some Nerrad tools.. Those clamps look extremely handy to have about, thanks for that.

• Agree Agree x 1
  7. Jerry

Jerry GSR

No worries. In honesty, i have the Jet Swet on the van but have never had to use it...yet

8. ShaunCorbs

ShaunCorbs S. Mod Trusted Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

You can get the emergency tape never used it myself but repaired a few joints after they used it sealed and stayed dry

9. Chalked

Chalked Plumber GSR

Will the building invest in a pipe freezer?

• Agree Agree x 1
  10. Riley

Riley S. Mod Trusted Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

Won’t freeze if it’s a leak though

• Winner Winner x 1
  11. oz-plumber