Search the forum,

Discuss Tap flexible hose wrong size connector in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I have very little knowledge of plumbing and I stupidly bought a Grohe mixer tap from Amazon to replace an existing bathroom tap, link is here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00WBIH962/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The flexi hoses it comes with are of a size that seems to be 3/8" (female fitting with a washer/o-ring), whereas the existing isolation valve is a larger size, I believe 15mm (male), so the flexi hose won't fit.

I've been trying to find some type of converter/adapter but the only things I can find are compression fittings, and there isn't a copper pipe for me to attach to, just the male screw fitting on the isolation valve. I really don't want to have to remove the valve, nor do I really want to insert a new piece of copper pipe with a series of fittings just so I can convert between two sizes .

Does anyone know of such a thing exists?

If not please can anyone recommend a different tap of similar quality that has a normal size flex adapter?

Thanks,
Anton

Unscrew the flexible tails from the tap and see what size thread it is. It will either be M10 or M12.
But a set of these whichever suits.
http://www.NoLinkingToThis/search?search=flexible+tails

Thanks Tamz, good suggestion. I tried unscrewing the tails but they just seem to rotate around in the tap without unscrewing, I don't think they are removable.

You need to get hold if the bit with the spanner flats to undo them. They are not hard to move. The flexi hose itself will just spin at the connection.

If you go into a plumbers merchant you will get the proper m10 or 12 tails to fit straight onto a 1/2" male thread

Unfortunately the nut is buried inside the tap body, according to the instructions it looks like the only way to unscrew them is to take the entire tap to pieces from the top down.