Search the forum,

Discuss Some advice about a Thermostatic Mixer Shower in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all

I need some help, I'm really hoping you guys can give me some advice!

I'm a 2nd year plumbing apprentice so feel stupid having to ask, but because this is so important I'm worrying I may make mistakes and I need to get this right!

My Dad has End stage cancer and is at home. My parents currently have regular taps with a shower attachment. When he wants to wash he sits in the bath and showers.
He's struggling setting a nice temperature everytime he wants to wash, plus he's wanting to switch off the water, then put it back on again during his time in the bath, but obviously having to re set the temperature everytime isn't ideal when your sat in the bath getting cold.

He recently came back from his time at a hospice where they had the thermostatic mixer showers and he has asked me to install one.

Im worried about water pressure etc, if it will all be ok. I should be fine fitting it myself, it's just ensuring I have the right one. I don't want to make a mess of things and have my parents without a bath for any longer her than is necessary. I'd also like to fit one that causes least disruption to the current set up, I'm not wanting to go into the walls or anything.

Any advice on what to buy, any tips would be amazing.

I'll attach a picture of the current taps in a moment.

Thank you all!

What system does your dad have cat ?

Here is the current taps/shower

IMG_3053.JPG

I need to check tomorrow. I've never really taken any notice of my parents set up before.

They live in a masionette and have the ground floor and basement. I know they have a tank in the kitchen (ground floor) and a cylinder in a down stairs cupboard.

I can find out more tomorrow when I visit.

I need to check tomorrow. I've never really taken any notice of my parents set up before.