Search the forum,

Discuss Running a new gas pipe from meter to kitchen advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's about a 15 metre straight run under a wooden floor from the meter at the front of the house to the kitchen at the back.

There is a massive void under the floor joists (can even climb down and work underneath them) so I was thinking of clipping the 22mm copper pipe to the bottom of the joists. The pipe will be servicing a combi boiler and cooker.

I'm a Gas Safe newbie so I could do with some advice on any do's and don'ts that fall foul of the gas regs. I know it's a basic job but I'm a bit old school and it's going to take me a while to get used to all this legislation.

I would go with 28mm just in case. Do some calculation if 22mm will be sufficient for both appliances.

usually easy to run it above the supports between the joists and youl need at least some 28mm

Just do a pipe sizeing calculation just to make sure you don't get more than the 1 mb drop from the meter to the boiler .

24kW or 40kW boiler? Basic cooker or a 7 burner, tripple oven range? You size to supply needs choco. Best work out the requirements personally as everyone else has mentioned - IMHO :)

'Have you got your viper book?'

Not as yet, but will be purchasing. Need to get through the end of this month's mortgage/bill frenzy before I have any spare cash.

Ta for the pipe sizing replies so far. It's 22mm pipe coming off the meter so I assumed I would be restricted to that.

Last edited:

Ta for the pipe sizing replies so far. It's 22mm pipe coming off the meter so I assumed I would be restricted to that.
if you realy think that id go back to your training provider and ask for your money back

you mention your a gas safe newbie, so cant you refer to any of your training materiels regarding pipe sizing and regs?, surely youve got this material in your van like most of us?