Search the forum,

Discuss retraining advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jobbit

Hi everyone,
I am looking at retraining and have seen a lot of the comments on here about 'training centres' and have also read other places that people take age in to account when taking people on.

I'm 35 and looking at retraining and live in south west essex. Does anyone know of any reputable training facilties which don't ask for a huge sum of money and my first born and offer the qualifications that employers are looking for? Also anyone from my way know what the job prospects are like for someone entering the business at my age, given that I am a total newbie to plumbing?

i'm not too happy with the of training by post or cbt as some schemes i have read up on.

Any help is appreciated

Cheers

your doing right by looking into it, but be careful. with many centres looking for 8k to get you through and the credt crunch leading to a downturn in work, how long before you make your money back?

Thanks Fuzzy, seems to be a bit of a minefield everywhere for jobs with no money to go around. Getting properly qualified with skills as well as theory as soon as possible so that i can get food on the table and bills paid is my main aim. I'm worried about getting paper qualifications but not the right practical skills for my money.

i'm coming from an IT background and have seen this in IT. Training courses for silly money offering 100% pass rates and required qualifications, which end up worthless as they are only worth while to pass exams, get out into the real 'hands on world' and people dont have a clue what to do outside the book. This is why i worry about these study at home courses.

Hi,