Search the forum,

Discuss renewable energy/solar heating technical question. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys,

I’m designing a new kind of solar heating system. I’m just an amateur and don’t know enough about technical terms to run google searches for pieces of equipment to see if what I need exists, so I was wondering if you could help please?

What I’m designing is a solar water heating system that heats water in a closed loop.
What I need is to be able to introduce water into and draw it out of the loop whilst still maintaining the heating effect, which will require a pump or two to overcome the laws of thermodynamics.

At one end of the loop I need to be able to continually draw water in via circulation caused by thermodynamics. This end is also the cold water to system input end.
At the other I need to draw water according to thermodynamics and recycle it to the start of the system, and draw off hot water per demand.

I’ve worked out the thermodynamics and the closed loop, what I need help with is
A) a solution to being able to temporarily prevent hot water from recycling and re- entering the closed loop, whilst switching on cold water input into the closed loop when draw is placed on the hot out valve of the loop.
I was thinking a pump that has one out, two ins and a switching shut off valve of some kind connected to a negative pressure switch on the system draw... does such a pump exist? So a switching dual input pump with one output? If it does, how would I activate it? I Was thinking a pressure switch on the system out draw?
If it doesn’t, can anyone suggest a solution- I can’t get my head round it and I lack the plumbing technical know how.