Search the forum,

Discuss plumbing improver in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jacky_boy

just a question lads. Im a level 3 qualified plumber, im sitting my gas next week...and once Ive finished my solar, I'll be totally finished at college.

I've been told Im getting taken on at my company, but on an improvers wage (amount undecided so far)

My question is, is this right/legal or what..? is this the done thing. Ive spoken to other lads who've served time with the company and they went straight onto full rate. So its not like its the 'done thing'...Im just confused.

Don't get me wrong if this is ok to do I'm happy to do it, happy to get taken on etc. However if not, i will have to take the case up, or speak to my union rep.

I know some lads with just college experience go on an improvers wage...but Im 22, I have just served a 4 year apprenticeship, and it just seems strange then going onto this instead of full rate.

Thanks for any help or advice anyone can give me
Jack

In this case Qualifications kinda mean nothing, can you do the work and earn the money? If you're earning the company the same money as the big boys then you should be earning he big boys wages. That's the way I'd see it mate.

thats the issue, id be in a team with another lad halfing the work on one day heatings as far as i know...as long as its legal. i dont mind being an improver for a bt. 6 months i would say is a fair time scale.

However if they're going to drag it out to a year, maybe more. whilst im on reduced rate, doing half the work on 1 day heating systems. Questions have to be asked because it sounds like cheap labour.

So long as its over national minimum wage its legal.

Other than that - if you can get work at higher rates from a different firm, you are free to do that. If your employer recognises your union, then you may have recourse there.