Search the forum,

Discuss Please Help - Newbie in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

gizmo

Hi, I think this is the right forum - I'm really new to this but have a question I can't seem to find an answer to elsewhere.
My electric immersion heater stopped working yesterday, so I did a quick google search on replacing and found numerous guides and diagrams on replacing - problem is all the info I have found shows the immersion as sited into the tank but of course mine had to be different - the only electrical connection going anywhere near the tank runs to the base of a vertical copper cylinder about 12" tall, 2 1/2" Diameter - two thin pipes one on the side running into the side of the main tank, the other from the top running to the top of the main tank. I assume this is the heater unit. Is there anything "special" I need to know about replacing the thermostat on this or is it the same procedure as those connected directly into the main tank. Sorry for asking what may be daft questions but I don't want to start this and then come unstuck.
Thanks In advance.
Jim

Last edited by a moderator:
Can you post a pic, so we can see what you are talking about?

It's under "Manage Attachments" further down the page when you reply.

Hi, many thanks, pic attached.
Jim

Attachments

• Cylinder.jpg
    Cylinder.jpg
    22.4 KB · Views: 49
Hi, many thanks, pic attached.
Jim
in thirrty odd years ive never seen one like that yes it does look like the imersion at the bottom of the large pipe on the right of picture
looks like it will be dificult to change id try and disconnect the whole thing and remove the imersion on a bench
it must be very old and obviously some sort of add on to allow an imersion to be incorerated into the systen
my opinon would be to change the cylinder for a new foam lagged one which will save money long term