Search the forum,

Discuss Olci in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
V

Varley

I am currently studying for my C&G 6129 plumbing certificate through OLCI. This way is probably not the best as it is very expensive but the waiting list for my local colleges was ridiculous, so I bit the bullet and signed up as I really want to become a plumber. Anybody else studying this way? So far the course has been good, however I don't think you could go self-employed once finishing this course without gaining some experience with an established plumber first, for example the course doesn't even cover shower installation which I assume must be a major part of a plumbers duties these days.

Anyway, just wondering if anyone else on this forum studied this way, and if so how did you find it?

olic

Showers are easy but as you say not part of the course, I did a course with ppl in york they had some bays with showers in if you had finished in the bay you where using and had some time you could start another installation or go on to one of the showers, but remember that electric showers need a part p electrical instalation Certficate to do that course is another £1500 thats £600 +vat and another week of work or 2 weeks if you need the basic training first.
If you can get hold of 1 or 2 second hand showers (they don't need to work) put them on some plywood and plumb the pipe work in, if you whnt to hide the pipe work work from the back and drill a hole for the pipe to fit to the shower this will show you how easy they are, with being a tiler you don't need to work with a plumber just removing the bathroom suites will get you started

Thanks mate, little stupid that it's not part of the course though, don't you think? Never mind.

they only teach you the basics you have to learn the rest on the job but you learn fast when your self employed. Are you doing the water regs?