Search the forum,

Discuss Oil pipe run advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

Oddbod

I'm (finally) getting round to replacing our oil boiler – probably next summer (see the Thermecon 90/120 lockout thread for the sorry details).

I'm looking to replace it with a thermal store system which'll allow me to get rid of the numerous electric booster pumps too.

There is an ideal place for the new system to go – plenty of space, easy connecting into the existing pipework, simple flue run etc. But can I get the oil supply pipe there?

It means an external run of 5m followed by an internal run of about 20m along the base of the wall of the garage.

I need to get everything checked out 'cos i'm no expert, but I am working outside over the next week laying a new path over the route of the external length of the proposed oil pipe run. It would be ten mins work to drop a conduit in now. But there is no point if the run isn't practical. So the questions are....

Is running 20m of oil pipe though a garage practical/sensible. (An external route would be a real pain)

I'd bury a 60mm plastic conduit. 450Mmdeep, marker tape, draw string etc. Is there anything special about running an oil pipe? (I've run plenty of SWA and signal cables so unless there is anything different....)

The external run will need a bend which can be done as a 1M radius 90deg turn – otherwise no changes of direction.

But what should I do where the external run meets the internal? Hockey stick through the garage slab? Pit at the end of the conduit? Box on the wall? The wall is adjacent to the new path, so anything mounted on it could get a clout from a mower/barrow etc. A clipped pipe would be OK, but I think I'd want to protect a fire valve. (But see next para)