Search the forum,

Discuss nvq 2 criteria coverage in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

adrianfs1

Hi everyone,
Iam a self employed plumber, not doing to badly, however i have only just finished my 6129 tec cert and want to complete 6089 nvq l2, been plumbing for around 3 years self taught, decided i needed formal quals, want to ask an assessor if there is one out there, Iwill have a completely empty bathroom of which i wll have decomissioned, just leaving hot and cold tails as they enter the room plus feed and return for a rad. if i get an assessor out to me and i reaquip the bathroom to the required standards how much of the nvq l2 will this cover, cheers adrianfs1

welcome to the forum,

i am not an assesor but as far as i understand in brief,

you will need 6 months of photo evidence of differing criteria and 1-6 visits from a college assesor and that depends on the area you live if you can get one but is not impossible.
good luck.

im signed to olci for my nvq, the instructors at newcastle tell me this will not be a problem, but will not tell me what big jobs i need, mostly do small plumbing problems.

i have a list somewhere from c&g, i will post when i find it. i think i did it on another thread too.

me too actually, it's suprisingly difficult to find a definitive list.
in 450 years when i've saved up the couple of grand i need to do my nvq the list will prove handy.

ok found it, and a link to the thread.

you need a consise range of jobs for your portfolio,

these requirements are outlined by a guy called brian curry, a leading c&q examiner, authour etc, who i have direct contact too, so take it as read.
he says..
installing,
toilets,baths,basins,sinks and associated hot/cold discharge piping.
ball-valve maintenance various situations,
variety of tap and valve maintenance,
gutter, rwp, soil rainwater pipe install,
exchange rads and associated piping,