Discuss New self-employed plumber wana-be! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

m4rkbr

Hi, I have recently been made redundant and have decided to use the money I have been given to get my professional plumbing NVQ level 2/3 city and guilds. (I have no previous experience in plumbing)

Can anyone give me some good advice, can I become a self-employed plumber with just level 2? and are they any other things/ costs I need to be aware of?

Hope you can help :)

Mark

Welcome to Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice | Plumbers Forums | A forum for plumbers advice in the UK!

Welcome to UKPlumbersForums.co.uk m4rkbr. Thanks for introducing yourself.

welcome m4rkbr

hi.gif
Hope you enjoy the forums

welcome.
ÂŁ10k investment 4 years exp after nvq's to earn ÂŁ18kp.a and your on your way, good luck.

i love your enthusiasm
however please take a moment to digest a reality pill
redsaws post was totally accurate
heres a breakdown
Training and tools 10k
van/ins/tax/ 5k
public liability ins 300.00 to 500.00

approx cost to there 15-16k
now the tricky task of trying to
a/find someone to employ another new entrant
b/go self employed and try to find work

this is not meant as a dig this is just that loads of people come on here full of the joys of spring with the I want to be a plumber

please do a search on the subject and then do a search how many on here are earning a good living after completing their training and how much weight they have lost knawing their stumps in the lean periods

go for it son what have you got to loose keep your head down rse up and you'll get there

Last edited by a moderator:
i wish i trained as an electrician instead, normally alot cleaner

m4rkbr

Lots of threads on this subject in these forums - so rather than repeating, try these three searches for starters: "self employed" "new business" "qualify".

Some posts/posters are very encouraging - others are pessimistic.