Search the forum,

Discuss New S Plan Plus to be installed... contains 3D drawing... must be viewed :) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mozilla19

Hello All,

First Time Poster on this forum and would appreciate some advice on a new S Plan Plus System Im looking to have installed next week.

Im an engineer by profession, however not a heating engineer or plumber, but have picked up a few things here and there and from reading textbooks. Before anyone has a rant, I am going to get a professional heating engineer to install my system based on good, sound engineering practice rather than on my own limited experiences.

Heres what I am looking to achieve:

2 Heating Zones:
Upstairs is 17 KW load across 7 radiators
Downstairs is 17.6 KW Load across 6 radiators

1 DHW Zone comprising of a 170 Litre Megaflow Cylinder... It takes 24KW Boiler Output to get the DHW from 15degC to 60degC in 22 minutes

... A typical S Plan Plus System....

Boiler to be sourced is a 40KW Worcester Bosch CDi Regular Boiler. I can only run it as a 2oo3 system due to the high demands so both heating circuits will have to come on together (if required) at different times to the DHW Circuit.

Based on Rads and pipework that have been installed, I have worked out my required flow rates and pipe resistances (pressure losses which includes plenty of margin) and have decided to go for a Magna1 25-60 pump.

My required head and flow rates are somewhere in the mid range of this Magna1 25-60 variable speed pump (PP2) as opposed to the upper range on a smaller Grundfos Alpha 2L 15-60 or 25-60. I figured the Magna1 pump wont be working as hard, therefore it will last longer.