Search the forum,

Discuss New rads added - last one cold in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi - I'm a reasonably experienced DIY plumber but just can't work out why the last new rad I've installed is cold - would really appreciate your help please.

I've extended an existing 'run' of radiators - the last one on the run ( in downstairs kitchen) is cold.

The first rad added is upstairs in a bedroom - extended from a rad in an adjacent bedroom. Seems to work fine. I've put the TRV on the flow side and the locksheild on the return side.

The last new rad is located downstairs. I've had to run the pipework from this first new rad on the first floor - into an adjacent kitchen roofspace, then down into the kitchen.

To get into the kitchen roofspace - I've had to run the pipework about 18 inches vertically off the first floor (due to different ceiling heights on the ground floor - kitchen is higher that the other downstairs rooms).

The noticeable symptom is that hot water is not flowing beyond the tee to the TRV on the rad added to the bedroom on the first floor. I've tried closing the TRV and locksheild valve to this rad - has no effect.

I've bled both new rads, opened the locksheild valve on the last (kitchen) rad fully and closed down the preceding two rads (almost completely) to try to balance.

Is my problem that I just can't run a flow pipe vertically then down again between the last two rads or maybe just a balancing problem ( almost all existing rads at ground and first floor level run off a set of pipes on the first floor - perhaps I've got to balance all radiators on this circuit ?) ?

Thanks in advance

Not sure I've fully understood the layout, but might you have an airlock in the horizontal section of pipe in the kitchen roof space? You could need bleed valves in the flow and return at their highest point?