Search the forum,

Discuss Need advice training centre to get gas safe reg... in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

Haigy79

Hello,

I am hoping you can help or advise on the following...
I am a mechanical/hydraulic offshore engineer and i'm about to be made redundant due to to the gas/oil industry crash.
I've been looking at a career change and I am considering doing an 8 week course with TradeSure Training Ltd, Roundponds Business Centre, 67 Roundponds, Melksham, SN12 8EB.
These guys claim I will be able to apply to be on the gas safe register once the 8 weeks is completed as they guarantee me a 2 week placement to give me the portfolio required. After the 8 weeks I would have the following...

· Portfolio of Evidence - Not itself a qualification but you cannot get qualified without it.
· Accredited Certification Scheme (ACS) for Gas Installers/Fitters and Engineers
CCN1 - Core Gas Safety (Now includes Combustion Performance Analysis- CPA1)
CKR1 - Gas Cookers and Hobs
HTR1 - Gas Space Heaters (Gas Fires)
CENWAT - Domestic Gas Central Heating Boilers & Gas Water Heaters
I then plan to work with a plumber I know for a while to gain more experience before going self employed. With my mechanical hydraulic engineering background I feel i can pick this up quicker than most but im concerned about the training centre GUARANTEE of a work placement...
Has anyone used this centre before???

Why not do a plumbing course first?
I cant do a plumbing course first as I have a mortgage to pay and many outgoings. I have experience in pipework etc on ships and although its different I expect to be able to pick up a lot in my time working with heating engineer/plumber.