Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Checkout our Plumbers Insurance area - heavily discounted Public Liability Insurance and Van Insurance specifically designed for plumbers.

Discuss Need advice on how to get back into plumbing in the Plumbing Courses area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

1. Biggs

Biggs New Member

I'm an American plumber trying to get back into it over here in the UK. I went to the local college today and basically I was told they wouldnt even try to look at an apprenticeship for me. They said since I have only lived in the UK for 9 months that a plumber would have to fully fund my courses. Basically I was told there was no way I was going to plumb in this country.

Surely this cant be right, anyone out there have some advice for me on getting back into it? I have no certifications just work experience. I was also told you have to go to school to do plumbing here legally..theres no way I can just start out doing on the job training?

2. Jerry

Jerry GSR

Pretty sure anyone can call them selves a plumber....i have met a few.

We dont have the whole union/jouneyman plumber thing here.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Biggs

Biggs New Member

Well over in the states you can work under a licensed plumber (like I was) just wondering if I can do something similar here.

4. Jerry

Jerry GSR

Hmmm I dont think you have to here (depending on your defination of a plumber).

In fact, the number of 'licensed' trades is much lower than the states. Only a few trades can sign their own work off (in lieu of a council building inspector) and the main ones are gas, electric, roofing and windows (Fensa). There will be loads more which i am sure someone will tell us.

I would advise whatever route you choose, to quickly get some City & Guilds qualifications under your belt asap and insurance.

5. Chalked

Chalked Plumber GSR