Search the forum,

Discuss Moment Of Clarity Required In The Search For A Gas Course in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Makaveli

I am a painter & decorator with no previous plumbing experience and through the ever deteriorating situation within my trade have decided to move on and do a gas course and eventually become a gas engineer. So about a week ago i took sum time off and decided to find myself the right course and the right place to study it. To my astonishment I was overwhelmed by the mass of various courses, colleges, private study and prices available. Everyday I would spend hours scanning through so many courses ringing up for advice and just getting no where. I feel like i have finally come up with some conclusions that I would like to run by you as well as ask sum additional questions. Im sooooo glad to have finally found sum unbiased people I can speak to. So here it goes:

1) My 1st problem was deciding what course and accreditation to go for. There seemed to be 3 possibilities that would come up with different lengths and prices to go with, they were:

1 - Start with a NVQ2 Plumbing course, learning the basics for a year after moving onto level 3 Gas for a year and another year of work placement. Totaling to 3 year course for around £7-8000.*

2 - Do a Technical Certificate (C&G 6132) Level 2 for 48 weeks, 1 day a week along with NVQ Level 2 (C&G 6012) work placement in conjunction with the TC, preferably 4 days a week. This course is *15 months long for around £3700

3 - Do a Bpec course ranging from 20-30 days over 1 day a week with 15-20 week work placement, costing around £4000