Search the forum,

Discuss Is this vent pipe location dangerous? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

I live on the second floor of a six story building and the basement flat directly below me at the back of the building has a small courtyard that is walled in on all sides. So essentially it's like a high, two story walled well.

On the other side of one wall is a heating/hot water boiler of some kind and although the boiler has an outlet pipe that 'technically' fulfils the requirement of an external vent, the reality is that the 'outside' in this case is the two story deep courtyard well that the occupants of that flat use and often have outdoor meals in.
They also sleep in their home with windows open for air.

I'm not experienced in plumbing or heating engineering at all but every time I look out of my window and down at the hooked vent pipe I wonder what is being vented and as it is pointing back down into the enclosed courtyard well then I wonder if the vented fumes building up with no open draft to carry them away? And is there a danger one day that the occupants of the basement flat will have the fumes build up and seep in through their open window and poison them in their sleep. Or if not kill them then at least be a possible, gradual detriment to their health?

I've mentioned it to the occupants of the flat and also one of the building managers but they don't seem concerned but as I am concerned then I feel like it's my responsibility to at least ask some professionals.

Thanks for reading.

LG courtyard flume.jpg

That's crazy, looks like at least 3 different flues bodged together, would definitely be sending some pics over to gas Safe if I were you. Also if the flue is in such a state makes you wander what else is wrong the installation inside!!!

Don't delay, do as all have said above.
Proper abomination there, someone needs serious re-education & a visit to the courts.