Search the forum,

Discuss Insurance costs and cover in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Evening All,

I'm an instrument technician with 15 years experience working with control systems within the offshore oil and gas industry.

I'm currently considering re-qualifying as a heating engineer. Would anyone be able to offer any advice on insurance?

From the few online quotes I've looked at I'm quite surprised how high they are compared to insurance for industrial work.

I've received quotes of around £2000/year, is this about right?

I've filled in the forms with the insurers linked to the forum but am still waiting for a reply as out of office.

Cheers
Dave

How much public liability will you require? I have £2 million and cost a one off payment of £550. That doesn’t include theft of tools from van though. Only because most require proof of purchase which I don’t have for all off my tools.

Cheaper to have the insurance & not need it.
The one time you don't renew in time or say you will do it later as you are snowed under with work will be when you need it.
Mine is about £400 including 2mil PL, tools in van & roofing up to 30foot on ladders, etc.
Worth hunting around or search to forums using box in top r/h corner of page,
Thanks,
Andy

Hi Christopher, thanks for your reply.

I believe that was with £2m public liability + £5m in employers liability insurance.

I'm planning to take on one or two experienced guys while I'm still in my current job so need the employers part too.

Thanks Andy,

I've maybe found a few poor providers, I've tried varying the liability a bit and it didn't seem to make much difference.

The £4-500 mark was more around what I was expecting it to be.

Do you guys usually carry professional indemnity? I have it for my day job but not sure if many domestic guys do.

Take the employee bit off and get a quote. Get that, once you have employees.
My 19 year old apprentice cost nearly a grand a year alone.

Hi Chalked,