Search the forum,

Discuss Howling sound from pipes! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi everyone, last year I had my old tanked central heating system & boiler replaced with a Vailent combi boiler.
Recently, when running the upstairs taps, there’s a howling sound from the pipes. I’ve bled the radiators, and the system pressure is 1bar.
Where the hot water cylinder was is what looks like a knurled bleed screw? I’ve taken a pic, do you think I should open this to see if air is trapped there? Sorry this is vague, I’m no expert! I’ve attached a pic.
Cheers guys! Steve.

346F9B60-B36F-4970-8B33-2745CC41907A.jpeg

41E476CA-EAA5-4435-8BF3-0E31340386DA.jpeg

Hi everyone, last year I had my old tanked central heating system & boiler replaced with a Vailent combi boiler.
Recently, when running the upstairs taps, there’s a howling sound from the pipes. I’ve bled the radiators, and the system pressure is 1bar.
Where the hot water cylinder was is what looks like a knurled bleed screw? I’ve taken a pic, do you think I should open this to see if air is trapped there? Sorry this is vague, I’m no expert! I’ve attached a pic.
Cheers guys! Steve.

View attachment 36030

View attachment 36031
Bleeding the rads won’t help if noise is when running the taps.
Sounds more of a pressure issue.
Maybe an increase in pressure causing the noise

Possibly but if it’s on the heating pipework it ain’t going to affect the howling you mention