Search the forum,

Discuss how many different pipes and fittings are there for taps ? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

MMdesigns

Hello
I am currently studying Product design at university and have chosen to design a tap wrench for my final year design. After aproaching some friends about the idea i have found out their is an increasing problem with non standard fittings being used in the uk.

Does any one have any idea of how many fittings and pipe sizes are used in the uk ?

thanks
Matt Mannion

Hello
I am currently studying Product design at university and have chosen to design a tap wrench for my final year design. After aproaching some friends about the idea i have found out their is an increasing problem with non standard fittings being used in the uk.

Does any one have any idea of how many fittings and pipe sizes are used in the uk ?

thanks
Matt Mannion

Can not you go and find some electrial friends or maybe a few joiners :)

thanks for the help :(

i know the standardised fittings and pipe sizes , its just alot of forigen tradesmen use non standard fittings.

do they??
I now I lead a sheltered life but news to me!!:eek:
yeah didnt you know they bring sackfulls in with them they get a extra bedroom on the council house for every 20 non standard tap con they bring

my tutor said its somthing i should look into because he has had it mentioned to him

ahem, may i give a suggestion. Go into a plumbers merchants and ask for 1 of every tap connector they have. Then you have some physical research. You must know of the adjustable tap wrench that all ready exists, could just copy that...

if you wants to design a product that there is a gap in the market... i have a few ideas...

no1... heated toilet seat (surely what everyone wants,electrically heated or plumbed in, making sure heat loss calc's also allow for the toilets heatloss. probably already exists)