Search the forum,

Discuss Hot water cylinder? ______________ in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello, I'm not a plumber but just curious as I'm an electrician who's coming towards the end of a rewire, The house is a new build out in the sticks. Originally the plan was to have a oil or gas fired boiler supplying CH and UFH, due to cost issues he has decided to install a unvented indirect cylinder and use only this for HW and UFH 6 zone manifold, with the immersion heating the loop, doesn't seem right to me and I'll have to somehow alter wiring as I've wired for a boiler setup, Is this ever a done thing?
Thanks

You sure it's not a elec thermal store ?

Could be!? Not familiar with those tbh, I havnt actually spoke to the plumber only the owner and what he's told me,

Unvented won't work

Thermal store will as it works in reverse to a cylinder eg the heating water is in the body of the cylinder where on a normal cylinder the hot water would be

Right okay think I'm with it, how long would the immersion take to heat the cylinder? I'm thinking of having the immersion on a timer at night as it's the only heat source and hopefully this would be enough for a day of HW and CH usage?

No wouldn't be enough for heating could possibly be for hot water in the summer nut not for heating

Best option put it on a timer let them set the times they want (you can set a basic one like a standard gas heating sys) and then have a boost function as well just incase

No wouldn't be enough for heating could possibly be for hot water in the summer nut not for heating

Best option put it on a timer let them set the times they want (you can set a basic one like a standard gas heating sys) and then have a boost function as well just incase
Put immersion on timer for heating?