Search the forum,

Discuss Hopefully an easy boiler question... in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hey guys,

So I’ve had a suspected problem with one of my motorised valves not opening and thus not allowing heat flow through the downstairs loop.

I think I know how to fix it (replace head on valve) but when thinking about the wiring etc it got me wondering a few things:

1) What does my thermostat physically activate? I’m positive it doesn't trigger the boiler directly.
2) If the “request for heat” signal to the boiler isn’t triggered by the thermostat, where does the signal come from?
3) The pump seems to start when any of the thermostats request heat, is this simply triggered by a branched signal wire from the thermostats?

My setup:
Ideal Logic H15 Boiler
Hot Water Cylinder (1 coil)
2x Siemens Battery Powered Thermostats (RDE100.1)
3x motorised valves
1 Grundfos pump

I studied the pipes in my airing cupboard and put together a diagram which I *think* is how my heating system works but I'm not sure. Anyway here it is:

4B4FA5D8-4076-4DE4-8284-0C6E113738FB.png

If anyone can help me get my head around signalling / what triggers the boiler / pump / valves / etc that would be great!

C

Last edited:
When the thermostat demands heat the MV opens and it’s switch turns on, connecting boiler and pump so yes it does activate them.

Nice one thanks guys :) Sorry for not replying.

So then if I understand right, that the microswitch in the valves are simply activated by the current that the motorised heads receive, and this in turn activates the circuits for the pump and boiler simultaneously

Basically was trying to ascertain where precisely the failure occurred but through trying to understand how exactly it all works.

E.g. So theres no direct wire from the thermostat to the boiler to send a heat demand signal.