Search the forum,

Discuss Help understanding a tightness test results. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Stuaz

Hi I just want to start this post by saying I am not a gas engineer nor am I attempting to do any gas work.

I recently had a new kitchen fitted which involved a new gas hob.

After it it was fitted a month later I had a gas leak. The engineer from the gas company traced the leak back to the hob and claimed the pipe work was not correctly done. The previous engineer who fitted it had fitted it on a bend in the pipe work rather than using an adapter.

After replacing the piping no more leak.

I have the tightness test results from the original fitting. They state -

02:00 min time
-21.70 mbar p1
-21.38 mbar p2
-0.32 mbar difference

I haven't a clue what they mean but because it indicates a difference does that mean it indicates a leak?

thanks in advance :)

Did you check the gas safe details for the first person?

P1 start of test
P2 end of test

Difference drop between the two and no alot of things can affect this weather temperature etc

Yours looks perfectly fine and I would say there's no leak

I was thinking maybe a kitchen fitter did the work who isn't gas safe

I was thinking maybe a kitchen fitter did the work who isn't gas safe

Yea was thinking the same until I saw he took the time to write his test down, how many non gas safe would know how and would do it

So that test was the original test ???
Prior to being repaired ?

P1 start of test
P2 end of test

Difference drop between the two and no alot of things can affect this weather temperature etc

Yours looks perfectly fine and I would say there's no leak

Thanks. Can only conclude that it was a slow leak that got worse over time due to pipe work join.

Thanks for your help.

i dont think a gas safe registered person would leave a hob with a leak anyway.