Search the forum,

Discuss Help to become a plumber aged 34! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Montbowski

Hello all
I wondered if could get some advice or assistance. Ive been working for an airline at Heathrow since school after 18 years. Now it appears im soon to be made redundant.
Ive always wanted to get into the plumbing field, my fathers a chippie and family all have trades. The problem i have is i know nothing about the industry except what ive picked up from my own house.
It looks like ill have time and money on my side for a short term, ive been toying with the prospect of doing a fast track course, 12 weeks solid full time example.. at a cost of roughly 5k..

I realise this wont get me experience, but what are thoughts about this?

At 34 with a mortgage no longer a job what am i to do nobody takes adult apprentices. If i gained one of these qualifications id happily take a decrease in wages to accommodate my inexperience.

Its just finding a firm that would take you on.

Im not totally sure what the industry standard expects city and guilds and NVQs are two separate things, baffled by the C&G courses. 6128/6129

I want to learn definately a hard motivated person but knowing the correct route to take is the most problematic

Any help please guys is genuinely appreciated, please bear in mind ive got mouths to feed before knocking the fast track route.

All the best
Leigh.

Hi Leigh,
Why plumbing? If you want to fast track something, why not plastering or painting/decorating? Actually plasterers have less stress, less responsibility,less chance of completely ruining someones house, cheaper overheads, less to learn and are on similar if not better wages than the plumbers half the time.