Search the forum,

Discuss Help! Tap tails to isolation valve. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi. I am in the process of changing a sink unit.
You'll have to bear with me because I don't know all the precise terms.
I have the flexible hose that leads from the tap (I believe it's called a tap tail) and it connects to the msima via a nut. I wish to connect it to an isolation valve. However, when I remove the nilut and olive from the isolation valve I notice that the end of it is quite sharp. Should I use this, or is there an additional connector that is to be used.

Also there is an arrow on the valve. I presume to indicate flow direction. Does this need to point towards the taps?
If you were to use an isolation valve in the middle of a long run of pipe, how do you determine direct. Also, looking through one end of the pipe, there is acting of holes around the cenral bore, what are these for.

I'm am a complete novice so lots of info with no abreviabbrevi or assumption of parts is needed.

Many thanks.

Or use 15mm radiator valves tails if you have any spare.
Or use 1/2” x 15mm male straights tightened on to the pipe - that way you can have the isolating valves at any lower position convenient
Hope I am answering a genuine post?

+1 for snowheads suggestion.
In addition, fit full bore isolators NOT the ones you have. Those severely restrict flow to the tap.

Hi. YorkshireDave. Thanks for the reply. How do you know which ones I've got?

Snowhead. Thank you very much. Thats extremely helpful. I think that's exactly what I need. Do I remove the nut and olive from the isolation valve then place it on the tail of this adaptor?

Also, can some please explain the directional arrow on the isolation valve.

Hi. Thanks for the reply. How do you know which ones I've got?