Search the forum,

Discuss Heat pump question in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

lenny

Good evening,

a question for the experts!

What air and water temperatures should be used when calculating heat pump sizes?

Thanks in advance

len

Good evening Len. First I am not an expert but I have installed my system that works well for me.
I think your question will be one for Worcester and would depend on so many factors. Need to know more about building fabric, heat losses, insulation, rooms, window sizes & DG /TGlazing heat losses. etc. Can under floor heating be installed ? Will HP be used as a hybrid ? ASHP or GSHP ? How big s your budget We need to know alot more about what you want to do ? etc. It is not a simple answer to HP sizing which is possibly why so many plumbers run away from the challenge when faced with anything unfamiliar.
A simple answer to your question, my HP is 15 KW output for 4 bed semi 10 oversized rads, some under floor and Koi Pond. In my case Circ temp of 39 to 48 degs C auto optomised by various sensors. You will not achieve good COP factors if outside temps drop below about 5 degs C or if aiming for output temps above 49 degs C depending partly on the Make / model of the HP you install.
Hope this is a helpful start to a viable system, will need to be hybrid in UK. Whats your location ?

Last edited by a moderator:
Air temp will be dependant on location, flow temp will be 50 degrees or lower for RHI eligibility, but as low as possible ideally to improve COP and SPF. It all depends on how much work/expense is required to increase emitters sizes in order for them to still be able to heat the rooms with lower flow temp at the design temp. You could be talking 50% + bigger. This all depends on heat loss calculations.

Your flow temperature will depend upon your emitter design, your air temperature will depend upon your location, your sizing will depend upon your load.