Search the forum,

Discuss Going self employed... in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Q

Quinn Ransley

Currently working for large company doing a range of work from commercial plumbing and heating in schools and hospitals to new and refurb flats domestic houses, bathrooms (can tile too) and large plant rooms, domestic and commercial boiler installs and even started supervising large jobs and Id like to say I've got a large amount of experience.
I've been plumbing now for 6 years. I'm currently 24 living at home not many out goings at All. I'm seriously thinking of going self employed for various reasons such as, it's what I've always wanted to do, I have people I know but in trades and not offering me work privately all the time, money potentially being better as money on the company I'm on isn't too good.
The only thing holding me back is although I have experience/ learnt about gas, e.g. Done a gas foundation course and done work under someone with gas safe I actually don't have my gas. The company in with won't put me through it either, so the plan I have is to go self employed and build my own work, work with people I know with gas to gain experience and maybe even others if I offer working with them voluntarily to gain experience and slowly fill the portfolio I have to fill before I can take the CCN1.

Might be over thinking but just comments or anything too see if this is a realistic plan from some more experienced guys would be great, thank you.

Being SE isn`t for everybody and in the last year or so some members have gone back to PAYE.

PS. Welcome to the forum.

Go for it bud before you get tied down with a family mortage ect you only get out what you put in so be prepared to work hard, you will need a certain amount of money behind you to start with for a van , tools public liability best of luck regards kop