Search the forum,

Discuss Flue - passing through adjacent property in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

richard978

Gas Engineer
I've just turned a boiler off yesterday due to an escape but noticed the flue passed through the ceiling and into the flat upstairs.

Now I know that this is allowed in existing installations prior to 2010 but this is only a few months old. It's slightly complicated in that the building is an assisted living complex so I don't know whether there are any exceptions?

I also noticed that there was a fire collar around the flue which strikes me as very odd because surely you risk crushing the flue if it gets hot?

After having a chat with the building manager it would every boiler in the complex is installed this way?

I'm a gas Safe engineer but want some advice please? Gas Safe have told me it shouldn't so I've issued an At Risk to the flats I gained access to .....but I'm still a little unsure.

The fire collar will only expand when there’s a fire and tbh that’s what it’s supposed to do as the alu or plastic outer will melt

The fire collar will only expand when there’s a fire and tbh that’s what it’s supposed to do as the alu or plastic outer will melt

I've known fire vents close just from heat of a boiler compartment, this is something I've not seen before.

Also the collar was lathered in fire rated expanding foam which I also thought was banned due to the possibility of it crushing the flue.

I'm very unsure about this installation and it's certainly not the way I would have done it. But I've seen a few like this recently, maybe I'm wrong on this but it doesn't sound correct

With respect to the flue passing through an adjacent property, this is covered by Regulation 27(5) - flues only to be installed in safe places. Guidance notes generally tell you “new chimneys or flue systems shall not pass through any other dwelling as access for inspection may not be available”.