Search the forum,

Discuss Flow switch, sheared bolts... in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello, failed flow switch on potterton precision boiler. British gas, sealed system. There had been some water escaping and the bolts retaining the flow switch to side of boiler became seized, I tryed penetrating oil (wd40) and they began to come out... Then sheared. They are protruding maybe 2-3mm, I have considered tapping them and trying a left handed drill bit a or bolt removal tool but they are only 4mm stud and reckon there's only gonna be one shot at getting them out.

Does anyone know if this is salvageable or have any advice?

Thanks in advance!

View attachment DSC_2917.JPG

Are you gas safe ?

No Shaun. I am an Electrician. Apologies in advance. Tin hat on.

Can a gas safe engineer salvage this? Not asking for step by step advice. Just an idea as to cost, hours etc.

Is it new boiler time?

If you find a decent one yes there very common and always snap

You will get the odd few that will say new boiler etc but you have nothing to loose try and find a decent one

I tryed penetrating oil (wd40)

If you're an electrician you know better than to DIY repairs on gas appliances; get a GSR in to advise on repair vs replacement.

In general, but not on boilers unless you are GSR, for removing seized/rusted bolts when there's only one shot I'd go for "Plus Gas Formula A" dismantling fluid and rust de-seizing lubricant. Much better that WD40 for this task IME.

Reply to Flow switch, sheared bolts... in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

Hello plumbers in my internet. So the Mrs want a spray mixer tap in the kitchen as we had two separate taps. I changed the tap for a temporary two hole mixer but the cold water pressure is high mains fed and the hot is low pressure immersion tank fed. I've been trying to find info on what I...
Replies
Views