Search the forum,

Discuss Firebird sooted up suddenly in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all, came across this forum this looking for information on my sooting up kitchen type indoor Enviromax. I'm a retired electronics/maintenance engineer, (fwiw can answer questions on popular smart home thermostat systems), but I've installed many solid fuel boilers in the last 40 years for family, and a few oil boiler swapouts also.
My Enviromax sooted up quite suddenly last week. I have it running again after a few false starts, I think my issues are with the difficulty cleaning the back chamber from the turbulator tubes up to the flue connector. It ran perfectly for over 4 years, never more than some fine ash on the baffles when I'd inspect it, but then last year It developed a squeaking noise from the motor, possibly a bearing or stator rubbing. Before I got around to dealing with it I had a serious failure, lots of soot, baked photocell. Also disintegration on the top of the condenser trap, some minor burning of the top two baffles on the rear edge, and the door sĺeal was in a bad way. A full overhaul, two new baffles, motor, photocell, nozzle, trap, got it running again, just in time for Xmas, and it was running perfectly till last week, when it sooted up and set off the CO alarm.
I'm thinking that I didn't get enough soot from the back chamber last November, I used a vacuum and a length of hose though the tubes, followed by a spirity rag on a stick. Does soapy hot water down the top flue exit sound like a plan? Let it drain through the condensate trap. Or perhaps DualX.