Search the forum,

Discuss Fast trackers versus apprenticeship in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anth

Hi everyone

I am new to the site have read a lot of threads about fast track courses. I have recently being laid off, first time since i left school and its ****. I have been thinking about doing a fast track course to becoming a plumber and going self employed. I know all the well experienced guys on here will probably be thinking, oh no not another one. Here is the question, there are a lot of anti fast track comments on this site. I have been working on gas pipes for the last 7 yrs and gained all qualifications (inc nvq portfolio)needed to becoming a service layer. Before that, a time served toolmaker. I am 32 and thought about a fast track course. At the age of 32 how else am i supposed to get into the plumbing trade other that fast track. No companys are taking men on. No apprenticeships are available for us over 25s and fast track seems to be the only other way. Plumbing seems the obvious choice for me to go self employed. Yes at first i may not have all the experience req'd to call myself a qualified plumber, but who ever does.
Even though i work on gas piping for seven years, you are always learning. Even some of the guys who had done it thirty years did not know ever thing. We all need to start off slowly somewhere whatever path you chose. Why are most against fast trackers when all they are trying to do is get a foot on the ladder, earn some money and support there wife and children. In this world of doom and gloom at the moment when lots of people are out of work and the government cant offer/does not want to offer you anything, these fast track courses for whatever profession, offer us lot, a glimmer of hope.