Search the forum,

Discuss Draining prob G/F Rads in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, everyone newbie here, Trying to Drain system (open vent) to clean header tank, don't know which rad to use as all downstairs rads have drain cocks. manage to drain all top rads but apart from rad used to drain system all other downstairs rads still full!. All trv's and lockshields open and vented apart from G/F rads obviously.How do I find the right rad to use, cheers

The reason they all have drain cocks is because the down stairs rads are on drops , in other words they wont go down under the floor and then come back up . Its an educated guess your floors are concrete.

Hi, everyone newbie here, Trying to Drain system (open vent) to clean header tank, don't know which rad to use as all downstairs rads have drain cocks. manage to drain all top rads but apart from rad used to drain system all other downstairs rads still full!. All trv's and lockshields open and vented apart from G/F rads obviously.How do I find the right rad to use, cheers

To just work on F&E, any rad will do. You have done it. Get some paper and draw the system, it will become obvious

To just work on F&E, any rad will do. You have done it. Get some paper and draw the system, it will become obvious
Thanks for the replies, should have mentioned wanted to drain whole system to flush out and put chemicals in to clean and then after some time, drain and fill with cleaner, if I manually open diverter valves near HW tank will this help drain G/F rads?

Yes as it will allow air in from above but you will have to drain each individual downstairs radiator

Don't worry Stu, on it's way from sleezbay ÂŁ10.99 for fernox F1, not a bad deal, unless you know where to get these cheaper?
If you are going to clean out the system then flushing out the
black sludge is a good idea esp. with so many dropped rads. You might try the magnet trick