Search the forum,

Discuss Difference between thermostatic and pressure compensating shower valve? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

I'm a level two trainee and wondered if there is any difference please? Not sure where I would source a pressure compensating shower valve from I. e. to install on a combi boiler system?

Grateful for any insight please or are these the same the same thing?

Cheers guys

Thermostatic mixes hot and cold to maintain a steady temperature. Usually on balanced pressures; some will run with gravity hot, mains cold and MIs only recommend without stipulating balanced pressures.

Prsssure compensating shower: could this be referring to the venturi type that uses the cold's pressure to boost the hot pressure and is specifically designed for mains cold, gravity hot? Never seen one outside of a textbook and no idea where I would buy one from.

Thermostatic mixes hot and cold to maintain a steady temperature. Usually on balanced pressures; some will run with gravity hot, mains cold and MIs only recommend without stipulating balanced pressures.

Prsssure compensating shower: could this be referring to the venturi type that uses the cold's pressure to boost the hot pressure and is specifically designed for mains cold, gravity hot? Never seen one outside of a textbook and no idea where I would buy one from.

Thanks mate so am I OK to use a thermostatic shower valve on a combi boiler system?

The Mira 415 was a pressure balanced shower. Looking on Mira website looks like it may have last been produced in 2016 but not sure.
The pressure compensating was to cope with combi modulating not to balance unequal supplies

Aqualisa shower suitable for a combi boiler supply are good.