Search the forum,

Discuss CP12 for gas hob - gas leak investigation in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

amarula

Hello,

I hope you will be able to give me your opinion on what follows as I am not an expert. I look after a building of 20 or so flats. A landlord called a Gas Engineer to have a CP12 issued before letting his flat. The only gas appliance we have in our flats is a gas cooker. The gas supply is communal and the communal supply point is in the car park. Pipes go up to each individual flat. The gas engineer saw a drop in pressure when doing his tests at the supply point in the kitchen. He then called the landlord to tell him he could not issue the certificate as there was a leak that he would need to investigate. He could not say where the leak was, it could be in the kitchen or it could be anywhere between the flat and the supply downstairs. I was called by the landlord to report the problem and contacted the gas engineer who told me the same. I agreed to the investigation and the cost quoted. The engineer came back the same day and went in the flat where I was shown the drop in pressure. The engineer said he did not believe the leak came from the kitchen and it must be somewhere in the building. I let him investigate the building. He reported that he pulled the washing machine behind which the pipe linking the gas hob to the supply in the kitchen was, inspected the joint but could not find a leak. This, he said, was the last area he inspected, after inspecting the building. After 2 hours, he reported he had not been able to trace the leak as he had no access to pipes within walls or ceilings. He recommended that an electric cooker be fitted. The supply was capped at the communal supply point.