Search the forum,

Discuss Complete novice needing a new system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bice

I have got the builders in to build me a side return extension in a four-bedroom terraced house in South London. It means remodelling the kitchen, putting in a shower room and ... sorting out the plumbing.
We have an open vent sealed system with an Ideal Classic LXFF boiler, about 8 years old, a hot water cyclinder in the airing cupboard, a cold water tank in a roof occupying narrow attic space we cannot use, and a red pressurised expansion vessel in the main attic.
The builders immediately suggested a combi boiler as a replacement, but I am very wary of this. I am no plumber but I have read up on hot water systems on sites such as this one and miketheplumber etc.
Our boiler works fine, but certainly is overdue for a service and is not a condensing boiler. So the building inspector may insist I change it if, as I want to do, I move the location.
It may be a good idea to replace it anyway as it scores only 76.2-77.2 on the sedbuk boiler efficiency site, or 'E'.
We also want a hot water cyclinder. we have a copper one, wrapped in an insulating duvet. it works fine, but may be inefficient and time to change it. Its location is changing.
I think the best course is to revive the feed and expansion tank in the attic, which is all in place, and scrap the sealed, pressurised system that we fitted about 8 years ago.
There are no space saving issues, as the cold water tank is not using usable space. And we want a hot water tank for an airing cupboard.
What do people reckon: I should ditch the pressurised system or stick with it? Should I keep the Ideal Classic boiler or replace with something like a Borsch Worcester 30 CDi, or a Vaillant Ecotec.
Any thoughts gratefully received.