Search the forum,

Discuss Chrome pipe! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

Winston

Hi gents I have got a shower to replace unfortunatley the existing shower has exposed copper pipe going up the wall looks awful. I am going to replace with a nice chrome valve and thought the chrome would at least look nicer. I havent tried before can I bend chrome in the same way as copper or should I use compression fittings?

I've been told (not tried it) that you can't bend chrome pipe because the chrome comes off the copper.:)

Hi

I've never done this before but the pipe won't be chorme its just the plating so you will most likely make the plating flake and crack and then come away

Where does the piping come from is it the ceiling?

The best way would be for you to make up the work in copper then get it plated after you have bent the tube, etc, because the chrome will crack and flake off if bent to much, use compression fittings or if using solder fittings, have the fitting wax plugged so that the chrome does not plate the inside of the fitting, and either get the platers to strip the chrome off the end of the tubes where soldering the fittings, or use hydrochloric acid to strip the chrome off the ends of the tube just a mm more than the fitting depth so that the solder will take on the tube

Believe it or not but its been tee off the h&c feeds from the basin! It looks awful at the moment but thought it may at least look better in chrome pipe. I have not said this is what I plan to the customer but she is a oap and it really looks carp at the mo.:(

Believe it or not but its been tee off the h&c feeds from the basin! It looks awful at the moment but thought it may at least look better in chrome pipe. I have not said this is what I plan to the customer but she is a oap and it really looks carp at the mo.:(