Search the forum,

Discuss Central heating stops/starts in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Good evening guys. Just a quick question please and don't judge me, cause I'm a bit new with the central heating. I use to have only electric heating before.
For example...now my thermostat show 18 degrees. If I would set up the temperature to 22 for example, my central heating will start to heat. After few minutes, will stop, be in stand by, after that starts again for few seconds, again stops for few minutes, and after that again start, keeps heating a bit longer and so on. What I mean is... the central heating should continuously 'burn' till is gonna reach the temperature that I set, or is normal to have few short 'breaks' between the heating cycles?
Thank you for your time.

You may be seeing a variant of this problem

Boiler thermostat query

in which case you can understand what's going on from my answer there.

Try opening (i.e. increasing the setpoint temperature by turning them anticlockwise) thermostatic valves on your radiators and letting the room stat that controls the boiler regulate the temperature.

If you can't get it working reasonably easily, get a qualified heating engineer to check the operation of the system (and service the boiler if it hasn't been done recently) and explain to you how to get the best out of it.

Thanks for your reply Chuck. I've checked all the thermostat valves from radiators and all at them are fully open. Any other hints?
Could you give a bit more information please.
Make and model of Boiler,
Make and model of any time clocks, programmers, thermostats, Roughly what type/size of house e.g. pre-war semi with three bed. How long has the system been installed.
When you say it did this with the old thermostat, why have you changed it?
Just so we can try and imagine the set up you have.