Search the forum,

Discuss Can you use a heat battery for central heating? in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hey all,

Excuse me if I get some facts wrong, I'm a complete noob when it comes to anything other than replacing radiators.

We're about to get PV Solar Panels (~6kw) and a large battery storage array (2xTesla Powerwalls for ~27kwh storage and ~10kw output). I'm looking to replace my old potteron powermax gas combi boiler and go all electric. We're going to sign up to Octopus Go so we can try and pre-charge as much stuff in the 4 hours of the night when electricity is cheaper because my projected bills with two teenage daughters is going to be astronomical.

For Domestic Hot water, it seems like it's a no-brainer to get something like a Sunamp Thermino, I have a big tank of water in my loft, which I assume I would keep for this system and two mixer showers that I believe pull from this big tank? (correct me if I'm wrong). I also plan on getting solar divert so excess PV energy comes to this heat battery.

For Central Heating I'm not entirely sure what options I have (ASHP is out of the question for various reasons). Here come the silly questions:

Do I need a new Electric Boiler just for the central heating? Or could I get another Sunamp Thermino (as I believe the have immersion heaters at the bottom of them) and just use that? Or could I use an electric boiler in combination with a heat battery? I'm not sure how these would work together. There seem to be multiple types of Electric boilers, I assume I don't need a combi if the Sunamp is handling hot water?

I'd like to not draw more than 10kw peak at any given time so I can fully utilise my electric batteries and not have to draw from the grid at peak times, so the idea of using heat batteries seems appealing if I can spread the load out.