Search the forum,

Discuss Can I replace a flexible drain hose with a solid one? in the DIY Plumbing Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

I have moved house and traced a flood to several pinholes in a washing machine extended flexible drain hose. I assume they were caused by a mouse since there are droppings nearby.

I have no experience of washing machine hoses connected above sink traps but, apart from the leak, it appears to work well.

My research indicates that this is now very common and is clearly simpler and cheaper than a separate 40mm trap and should have a lower flood risk.

Can somebody tell me where this method is detailed in the UK Building Regulations and say why I can't find any information on an equivalent diameter fixed pipe solution?

Whilst I will probably still need a short length of flexible hose to remove the washing machine I would like to make it less attractive to mice. I can't see why solid pumped pipes should not be allowed to replace fragile flexible ones.

Its fine under regs, not sure where.
The "proper way" is separate trap.
You need quite a lot of flex to get the machine in and out easily.
Its rare that mices eat them and you'd be better to get rid of the mices than what you suggest.
Make sure you have a jubilee clip holding the outlet on to the spigot above the trap.

Its fine under regs, not sure where.
The "proper way" is separate trap.
You need quite a lot of flex to get the machine in and out easily.
Its rare that mices eat them and you'd be better to get rid of the mices than what you suggest.
Make sure you have a jubilee clip holding the outlet on to the spigot above the trap.

Judging by the ultrasonic devices and neighbours remarks there is a long history of animal damage here. I am told squirrels destroy lead flashing.

I suspect the easiest fix would be a 20mm solid plastic pipe which could still be eaten but not as easily as the paper thin flexible drain pipes.