Search the forum,

Discuss Buying tools as an apprentice (tax refund?) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I'm a first year apprentice wanting to buy my own tools so I can eventually start doing foreigners on weekends.

I know if you're self employed you can claim the tax back. So what I want to know is if i can claim tax back as a emoloyeed apprentice. Im on £3.40 an hour so dont pay tax at present.

Any advice welcome :)

Just get your boss to put them through his books and deduct from wages before you get taxed on it

You can't claim back what you haven't paid! No tax, no rebate. However, you can claim up to 3 years in arrears if I remember correctly, so keep the receipts till you start paying tax.

Just make sure your boss doesn't mind you doing private work...

Let me get this right, you want tax relief on tools you buy but dont want to pay tax on money you earn. Lol

Hello,

I'm a first year apprentice wanting to buy my own tools so I can eventually start doing foreigners on weekends.

Really think you need to learn to walk before you run doing foreigners young grasshopper. lol

Don't know how's he going to work unless it's a maid service, all first years get is a big brush and a ash pan and brush and instructions how to make the tea

It might seem like a a pis take but there is a serious side to this question.

Believe it or not, even if you are employed you can claim tax allowances for tools and work clothes. Ring up the HMRC and they will adjust your tax code. But you may need to get and keep receipts.

Personally i think it is shyte as every employer should provide their apprentice employee's with everything they need except hand tools and even then they should be paid a tool allowance to help buy them. Most decent employers would buy the lads hand tools as well but times have changed and most small employers are a now shower of shyte out to exploit rather than value their staff.