Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Checkout our Plumbers Insurance area - heavily discounted Public Liability Insurance and Van Insurance specifically designed for plumbers.

Discuss Boiler wont ignite after power off in the Central Heating Forum area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

1. gavc

gavc New Member

I replaced a couple of TRVs earlier, and prior to starting I powered off the boiler (a Main Heat 15). Boiler is 7 months old, and never been isolated from the mains before today.

Once all the rads were bled, went to power on the boiler and now the pilot won't ignite. And the reset button doesn't do anything.

As a total novice I'm not intending messing with anything, but does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

2. Brambles

Brambles Active Member

Do you have the same issue for Hot Water and Central Heating? Or is Hot Water only ok? If it is both not functioning:

Is this operating on a sealed system?

If so:

Check that you have properly repressurised the system - it needs to at least 0.5bar

Check that you have power to the boiler.

Follow the reset procedure ( it is very simple) set out in the users manual - but you need to follow the precise process to ensure that the boiler has reset.

If it is only not operating on heating:

The motorised valve (s) would be my first point if call to find the fault.

Thereafter, if no success you need a Gas Safe Engineer to look at it

• Like Like x 2
  3. gavc

gavc New Member

Hot water seems OK, that seems to be the only the pipe that gets hot. Though I can't see the pilot light, so that's confused me..!

Yeah, it's pressurised OK, I took it up to 1bar.

4. Craig Watson

Craig Watson Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

It doesn't have a pilot light.

5. gmartine

gmartine GSR

No pilot on modern boilers fella.

6. gavc

gavc New Member

Shows how much I know

7. gavc