Discuss Boiler heating efficiency question in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I have recently moved into a flat and was wondering how to use the boiler most efficiently to heat the radiators.

I have an ecotech boiler and there is a setting to increase/decrease the temperature of the water (see pic).

There is a thermostat in the living room, I put it on about 21 degrees. What difference does the temperature setting on the boiler make if the thermostat is at 21? Will I spend more on heating bills if its set higher, even though the thermostat stays on 21?

Also if I have it turned to zero like in the photo, is that more/less efficient for the hot water in the shower and taps?

Sorry if these are simple questions but I'm new to this.

Thanks.

IMG_20171018_190134016.jpg

Set it to 65 degrees and experiment the lower you can go the lower your bill will be achieving a satisfactory comfort level will also require sufficient insulation ie loft and walls , dont keep turning it to its lowest setting find your comfort level and leave it set there.cheers kop

Hi
Leave the boiler thermostat between 60-70 degrees.
Use he room thermostat to control temperature and reduce bills. 1 degree, can lower you yearly cost by 10%.
Put on a jumper.

Hi,

Thanks for your replies.

Over the summer I had it set as zero as I wasn't using the radiators. Is that OK to do when you don't need to use radiators?

Is hot water linked to the boiler thermostat in any way or is it controlled separately?

You should have a timer on the boiler which controls its on and off times, if you turn your room thermostat down this will keep the heating off , if its a combi hot water is available when you turn the hotwater tap on and the temperature is adjustable on the boiler , if its heat only then the boiler temperature needs to be set at 65-70 degrees at all times . cheers kop