Search the forum,

Discuss Advice required for unvented system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

For the first time, I have moved to a new house fitted with an unvented system so I have no experience of this type of system. An engineer is booked for tomorrow for an annual service and I would just like advice on what he should do during the service so that I can be sure that it has been done properly. It's a Worcester boiler, a Therma Evocul cylinder and there are two expansion vessels, one white and one grey. Many thanks.

Agree with the above but in short

Check every thing is working and correctly installed
Clean any filters
Re check any vessels
Check the hot water temp
Check the heating temp

Might be worth getting him to service the boiler as well

Well that took me all of a minute to find, some people just don't want to read anything any more.
P.S. if you have the internal expansion cylinder you will need to down load (or pick up) the Manufacturers Instructions yourself. I bet the service engineer can't wait to meet you Cello!!

ANNUAL SERVICING

A competent installer should carry out the following checks on an annual basis, ideally at the same time as the annual boiler service.

1. The expansion relief valve on the inlet control set should be eased open allowing water to flow for 5 seconds. The valve should then be closed making sure it resets correctly. Repeat this procedure with the pressure / temperature relief valve. Always insure that the discharge pipework is allowing the water to drain away adequately. If not check for blockages etc. and clear.

2. Ensure that any immersion heaters that are fitted are working correctly and that they are controlling the water at a temperature of between 55°C and 60°C.