Search the forum,

Discuss 42 yr old police officer and looking to change career. Advice please. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Goobs10

I have been a police officer for 13 years and I'm sick to death of it, especially with how this conservative government has destroyed the police force.

I am interested in learning a trade such as plumbing or carpentry. However, financially, I would have to do this while remaining in the force. My question is what is the most practical route to take? Should I consider online courses to study? Try and find somebody to work alongside and learn from etc?

Even if it's not feasible to do it now, if I can make it through to retirement in the police (another 12 years if I retire at 55) it will be nice to have a trade I can work in perhaps on a part time basis after I retire.

Welcome along Goobs, there are a lot of posts on the forum asking the same question. To be a good plumber takes time and on site experiance, to be a self employed plumber takes even longer and costs with van, tools, insurance as a start, have you considered something like being a tiler where the money can be good and the training and costs are less?

Study at a local college one or two evenings a week. Plenty of people do it and seem to be alright. However you will have to take the plunge sooner or later and do it as a job. It's not the glorious job it's made out to be btw. I got mates as plasterers and tilers who are on ridiculous wages so don't dismis the idea of something else either

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to 42 yr old police officer and looking to change career. Advice please. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics