Search the forum,

Discuss Xs air at 500 in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

richardd

I carried out a check on a flue today.all other measurements were fine ratio o.oo25. The xs air seemed very high thou 500 as I have stated . The boiler was a Worcester si model 10year old and the flue run vertically for 2.5meters until it exited the property on a pitched roof.
Could someone explain xs air in more detail and this reading. I know high reading can effect fuel consumption. But is there any safety issues here thanks . I am in my first year on the register.

Xs air?

Not familiar with this richardd ... O2, CO2 & CO .. What FGA you using?

Co2 percentage 16percent .mi states 14percent adjusting tomorrow.

Hey always learning ... I now have a handle on excess air .. :) Amazing what technolgy does! So what is a "normal" reading on the Xs scale ??? :)

Last edited by a moderator:
My usual reading is around 30 on a horizontal flue straight out the wall. I got 480 on this flue I assumed it was because it was vertical and had a run of 2.5 meters.

I have done a bit of research myself it seems it is the amount of extra air present to assist combustion. So therebis no safety issue I presume but would like to hear further opinions.

Okay done a bit more reading on the excess air to get my own understanding on it. It's a measurement of "air" present in the exhaust flue. The higher the percentage reading the greater the dilution of flue gasses and is calculated by measuring the presence of oxygen in the flue. the less oxygen present the lower the excess air percentage reading.

A reading of 500% tells you there was a lot of air present... Possibility for this could be that the reading was taken on low fire with a fan flued boiler?

How does that sound? It makes sense for me anyhoo's!!! :)