Which air source heat pump?

Discussion in 'Renewable Energy' started by willing2learn, May 15, 2012.

1. willing2learn

willing2learn Plumbers Arms member

Hi guys, my wife and I are doing a self build. I'm a GSR plumber. There's no gas in the village, we were toying with the idea of going down the pellet burner root. But are now swaying towards an air source heat pump, with solar geothermal and a log burner in the lounge.

I've never installed a heat pump, and not sure which one to consider/avoid.

Any views on this people?

2. ecowarm

ecowarm UK Plumbersforums Trusted Advisor.

Google Earth save products, give them a ring or email, very friendly and helpful people. Ask about the Ecocent hot water cylinder, and their knowledge of heat pumps is second to none

3. willing2learn

Thanks for that, I'll check them out. Just having a look at the new Samsung EHS mono.

4. CMcM

CMcM New Member

Mitsubishi! cheap, chearfull and easy to install.
    Can use it to feed your heating (underfloor or rads) directly or sent it to a buffer.
    Pellet burners/ wood burner etc - to much hassle, cleaning out etc every so often depending how often u use it.

5. Nostrum

Nostrum Plumbers Arms member

Any thoughts on the dimplex range?

6. xpertbert

xpertbert New Member

My choice would be Nibe all the way. Not cheap but when installed and set up correct they are te best. Back up and customer service very good to. Mitsubishi have zero help in technical and service and there product is not a patch on there's.

7. fergie656

fergie656 New Member

Daikin altherma or the mitsubishi ecodan

8. willing2learn

Bit of an update. Went to Earth Save Products and had a good chat with the guys there. Very impressed with the Ecocent Cylinder. So looks like I'm swaying towards one of their ASHP for underfloor heating downstairs and some of their low temp rads for upstairs. The ASHP doesn't have to do the DHW as the Ecocent cylinder takes care of that.